Home Madrid university Eugenio Chacarra named Ben Hogan Prize finalist

Eugenio Chacarra named Ben Hogan Prize finalist


FORT WORTH, Texas – Oklahoma State Eugenio Chacarra was named one of three finalists for the Ben Hogan Award, announced today by the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, Friends of Golf and the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Joining Chacarra as finalists are Ludvig Aberg of Texas Tech and Sam Bennett of Texas A&M.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank annually recognizes the top male college golfer in NCAA, NAIA or NJCAA Division I, II or III based on all college, amateur and professional events over the past 12 months. .

The award began honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer at Colonial Country Club in 2002. Prior to its move to Fort Worth, the original Ben Hogan Trophy, which used a different set of criteria for its winner, was awarded to Bel-Air Country Club in Los Angeles from 1990.

The eldest from Madrid, Spain is looking to become OSU’s fifth Hogan winner in the past 20 years and is also the 10th finalist OSU has produced in that span.

Viktor Hovland (2019), Peter Uihlein (2011), Rickie Fowler (2008) and Hunter Mahan (2003) all achieved top marks while at Stillwater.

Chacarra, who returns for his final season next year, ranks in the top seven in all four ranking systems, including second in the World Amateur Scratch Players Ranking and fourth in the World Amateur Golf Ranking. He was a member of the international team at the 2021 Palmer Cup, where he posted a 4-0 mark, and was selected to represent the team again in 2022. Chacarra also earned medalist honors at the Championship. European amateur team 2021.

For the Cowboys, he averaged 69.16 over 34 rounds with eight top-10 finishes. Chacarra won two tournaments this spring, winning the Amer Ari Invitational and the National Invitational Tournament. He was the Ben Hogan Award Golfer of the Month for March.

Finalists will attend a black-tie dinner on Monday, May 23 at the Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner will be crowned. The winner will receive an exemption for the 2023 Charles Schwab Challenge, played each year at the Colonial.

The award selection committee, which votes at every stage of the process, is made up of 34 leaders and experts from professional, amateur and collegiate golf, both nationally and internationally.