Home Madrid university Eugenio Chacarra named Hogan Award semi-finalist

Eugenio Chacarra named Hogan Award semi-finalist


FORT WORTH, Texas – Oklahoma State Eugenio Chacarra was named one of 10 semi-finalists for the 2022 Ben Hogan Award, it was announced today by the Ben Hogan Award Committee, Friends of Golf and Golf Coaches Association of America.

The Ben Hogan Award is given annually to the top male college golfer in NCAA, NAIA, or NJCAA Division I, II, or III based on all collegiate, amateur, and professional events in the previous 12 months.

Joining Chacarra on the list are: Ludvig Aberg of Texas Tech, Sam Bennett of Texas A&M, Pierceson Coody of Texas, Chris Gotterup of Oklahoma, Cole Hammer of Texas, RJ Manke of Washington, Logan McAllister of Oklahoma, Trent Phillips of Georgia and Michael Thorbjornsen of Stanford.

On May 5, the 10 semi-finalists will be reduced to three finalists. Finalists will attend a black-tie dinner on May 23 at the Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner will be crowned. The winner will receive an exemption for the 2023 Charles Schwab Challenge, played each year at the Colonial.

The award selection committee, which votes at every stage of the process, is made up of 32 leaders and experts from professional, amateur and collegiate golf, both nationally and internationally. Additionally, past recipients will be able to vote on the final ballot.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank began honoring the Colonial Country Club’s outstanding amateur college golfer in 2002. Prior to its move to Fort Worth, the original Ben Hogan Trophy, which used a different set of criteria for its winner, was been awarded to Bel-Air Country Club in Los Angeles beginning in 1990.

A senior from Madrid, Spain, Chacarra will look to join Hunter Mahan (2003), Rickie Fowler (2008), Peter Uihlein (2011) and Viktor Hovland (2019) as Cowboys for winning the award from the current criteria. was set up in 2002.