Home Madrid scholarships Gerard, Greaser named to Hogan Awards Watch List

Gerard, Greaser named to Hogan Awards Watch List


The University of North Carolina Ryan Gerard and Austin Oiler are two of 30 players named to the watch list for the 2022 Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank. The Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, Friends of Golf and Golf Coaches Association of America today announced the 30-man roster.

The Ben Hogan Award recognizes the top male college golfer in NCAA, NAIA, or NJCAA Division I, II, or III based on all college, amateur, and professional events over the past 12 months. Three of the top four players in the Official World Golf Rankings—No. No. 1 Jon Rahm (2015, 2016), No. 3 Viktor Hovland (2019) and No. 4 Patrick Cantlay (2012) – are past recipients of the honor, while No. 2 Collin Morikawa (2018, 2019) was twice a finalist.

Carolina is one of seven schools with multiple players on the watch list. UNC joins Arizona State, Oklahoma, Texas, Texas A&M and Wake Forest with two players, while Oklahoma State has three.

Gerard, a fifth-year senior, from Raleigh, North Carolina, leads Carolina in rushing average this season at 69.87, which is on track to become the second-lowest single-season average in history. from the UNC. It is ranked 12and in the country (Golfweek). He won the Rod Myers Invitational at Duke in September, was sixth at The Blessings Collegiate Invitational and seventh at Olympia Fields.

Greaser, a junior from Vandalia, Ohio, is ranked No. 23 in the World Amateur Golf Rankings. He won the Olympia Fields Fighting Illini Invitational last September, playing 54and hole for the win, finished fourth at the Williams Cup and tied for ninth at The Blessings. Greaser is averaging 70.33 strokes per round, leads UNC with 12 under par and nine in the 60s. He was a 2021 United States Amateur runner-up and will compete at the 2022 Masters and US Open.

Greaser and Gerard rank first and third, respectively, in UNC’s career hitting average. Greaser shot 71.37 in 67 rounds; Gerard 71.80 in 137.

The list of 10 semi-finalists for this year’s Hogan Prize, which could include people not on the watch list, will be named on April 15. This group will be reduced to three finalists on May 5. The finalists will attend a black-tie dinner on May 23. at the Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner will be crowned.

The Ben Hogan Award selection committee is made up of 32 leaders in college, amateur and professional golf.

Since 2002, the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation has awarded more than $825,000 in scholarships to more than 30 universities. For more information on the Ben Hogan Award from PNC Bank, visit TheBenHoganAward.org and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

2022 Watchlist Candidates

Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech, Junior, Eslov, Sweden
Sam Bennett, Texas A&M, Senior, Madisonville, Texas
Michael Brennan, Wake Forest, sophomore, Leesburg, Virginia.
Jacob Bridgeman, Clemson, Senior, Inman, South Carolina
JM Butler, Auburn, sophomore, Louisville, Ky.
Eugenio Chacarra, Oklahoma State, Senior, Madrid, Spain
Pierceson Coody, Texas, Senior, Plano, Texas
Adrien Dumont from Chassart, Illinois, Junior, Villers la Ville, Belgium
Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira, Arkansas, Junior, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Alex Fitzpatrick, Wake Forest, Senior, Sheffield, England
Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida, sophomore, Trinity, Florida.
Ryan GerardNorth Carolina, Senior, Raleigh, North Carolina

Chris Gotterup, Oklahoma, Senior, Little Silver, NJ
Austin OilerNorth Carolina, Junior, Vandalia, Ohio

Cole Hammer, Texas, Senior, Houston, Texas
Joe Highsmith, Pepperdine, Senior, Lakewood, Wash.
Walker Lee, Texas A&M, Senior, Houston, Texas
Nick Lyerly, UNCG, Senior, Salisbury, NC
Palmer Jackson, Notre Dame, Junior, Murrysville, Penn.
Bo Jin, Oklahoma State, Sophomore, Beijing, China
RJ Manke, Washington, Senior, Lakewood, Wash.
Logan McAllister, Oklahoma, Senior, Oklahoma City, Okla.
Trent Phillips, Georgia, Senior, Inman, SC
James Piot, Michigan State, senior, Canton, Michigan
David Puig, Arizona State, Junior, La Garriga, Spain
Cameron Sisk, Arizona State, Senior, San Diego, CA.
Brian Stark, Oklahoma State, Junior, Kingsburg, CA.
Jackson Suber, Ole Miss, Senior, Tampa, Florida.
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford, sophomore, Wellesley, Mass.
Karl Vilips, Stanford, second year, Perth, Western Australia