Home Madrid scholarships LCU recognizes outstanding students and faculty at honors call

LCU recognizes outstanding students and faculty at honors call


PINEVILLE, La. (LCUNews) – Academy and athletics students recognized at Louisiana Christian University’s 61st annual convocation of honors on April 14. In addition, two faculty members were awarded endowed professorships.

Professor of English Julie Driessen received the McCormick-Huie Professorship in English and Journalism and Nicholas Maricle, Assistant Professor of Missions and Ministries, received the Lyndon E. Dawson, Sr. Professorship in Religion.

Student awards are listed below by department:


Central Louisiana Ad Club Scholarship: Nathaniel Madrid, Alexandria

Grady Harper Scholarship: Jocelyn Holt, Salinas, CA

Thilo Steinschulte Scholarship: Sarah Brooks, Baytown, Maryland


NAIA Student Athlete Award: Kae’ron Baker, Navasota, Texas & Kayla Dauthier, Jarreau


ACBSP Student Leadership Award: Agigail Shields, Deville

Central Louisiana Chapter of the Society of Louisiana CPAs Round Robin Interview Scholarship: Adam Hair, Sulfur

Outstanding Graduate Graduate in Business: Administration: Adam Hair, Sulfur

Outstanding Junior in Business Administration: Ting Jiang, Eunice and Salvador Palermo, Walker

Society of LA CPA Christopher “Kit” Smith Memorial Scholarship: Ting Jiang, Eunice

Sr External Major Field Test 2nd Higher: Jeff VanHandel, Pineville

Sr External Major Field Test Highest: Adam’s Hair, Sulfur


Avis L. Trahan – Excellence in Elementary Education Award: Allie Campbell, Dry Creek

Avis L. Trahan – Outstanding Secondary Education Award: Emma Cox, La Porte, Texas

Excellence in Education Award: Kylie Harless, Pineville

E. Beatrice McKenzie May: Leah Ardoin, Pineville

history and political science

Outstanding Freshman: Dylan Ashworth, Woodworth and Michael Monier, Ville Platte

Outstanding Upper Class Student in History and Political Science: Shelby Cupton, Quitman

Health and physical education

Courtney Butler Scholarship: Kasey Russell, Center Point

Outstanding Clinical Wellness Major in Exercise Science of the Year: James Powell, Rayville and Dylan Romero, Lafayette

Outstanding Health Promotion Major of the Year: Taylor Doyle, Pineville

Human behavior

Alpha Tau Gamma Omega Cole Award: Kayla Dauthier, Jarreau

Ann McAllister Award for Excellence in Social Work: Lacey Scarborough, Pineville

Ann McAllister Excellence Scholarship in Social Work: Angel Jackson, Esterwood

Social Work Student of the Year Award: Tyler Carlin, Woodworth

Dr. James Quillin Memorial Psychology Student of the Year: Yessica Roque, Colombia

Language and Literature

Ada Osborne Fellowship: Lauren Curtis, Port Allen

Alpha Mu Gamma Outstanding Member Award: Lauren Curtis, Port Allen

Alpha Mu Gamma Outstanding Senior Award: Lauren Curtis, Port Allen

Carson Fellowship in English: Breland Morris, Pineville

Ellander Ridge Fellowship: Samantha Ray, Center Point

Faculty of English Scholarship: Aven Elliot, Alexandria

Ivey Gravette Fellowship in English: Delaina Doyle, Hineston

Mary Kate Bailes Freshman Essay Award: Madison Clarke, Alexandria

Mayme Hamlett English Scholarship: Bethany Nichols, Boyce

Media, communication and theater

Convergence Media Senior Leadership Award: Kylei Cornelison, Jena

Ethel Holloman Memorial Fellowship in Journalism: Victoria Watson, New Iberia

Frank & Helen Bennett Endowment Fellowship in Drama: Dustin Morace, Pineville

Fred Kendrick Memorial Fellowship in Journalism: Joel Thompson, Lafayette

Media and Communications Outstanding Freshman in Production: Caleb Cole, Pineville

Benjamin Cox, Bushman

Senior Excellence in Media and Communications Award: Darrell Brown, Baton Rouge

Ortis Journalism Fellowship: Brandon Brown, Greenville, Texas

Oscar Hoffmeyer Fellowship in Journalism: Aaron Quartemont, Bentley

Richard Burton Scholarships:

-Communication studies: Phoebe Lim, Bâton Rouge

-Convergence Media: Lexi Rachal, Baton Rouge

-Theatre: Colleen Andrews, Carthage, Texas

Wildcat Debate “And Then Some” Award: Shelby Cupton, Quitman

Wildcat Debate Top Novice Award: Hannah Miller, Iowa

Missions and Ministries

Christian Studies Award: Samantha Austin, Boyce

Greek Zondervan Award: Isaiah Ardoin, Washington

Zondervan Theology Prize: Evan Norris, Deville


Alsup Voice Award: Malania White, Ball

BB McKinney Scholarship: Kyle Dupre, Houma

Bob Brian Church Music Endowed Scholarship: Selena Torres, Alexandria

Carroll Lowe Fellowship: Billi Barber, Slidell

Diane Leigh Ford Memorial Scholarship: Sophie Finley, Crowley

Dixie Sylvest Moss Award: Caleb Williams, Frierson

Edith Kilgore Kirkpatrick Music Scholarship: Samantha McCollough, Oakdale

Gloria Joy Moore Scholarship: Cheyenne Blake, West Monroe

Music Service Award: Sarah Kelly, Morgan City

Pierre Valmont Blanchard Award for Vocal Performance: Malania White, Ball

Richard Hill Endowment Scholarship: Peyton Newton, Alexandria

Robert W Poole Endowment Scholarship: A’melia Perkins, Pineville

Sue McGahey Elgin Endowment Scholarship: Caleb Williams, Frierson

Natural Sciences

Carol Anne O’Quinn Award: Jesci Lord, Bastrop

Hansel B. O’Quinn Award: Harrison Bieber, Dry Prong

JF Richie Memorial Award: Trinity Foster, Deville

Jarrell Memorial Award: Madison McDowell, Deville

Outstanding Freshman Chemistry Award: Ethan Lanford, Pineville

Rocky Vidrine Memorial Award – Outstanding Freshman Pre-Medicine: Kamryn West, Ville Platte

The Monroe Hilburn Prize: Erich Loewer, Crowley

Feeding with milk

Nursing Courage: Shaye Tredinich, Madisonville

Division of Nursing Award: Jade Brady, LaPlace

Jean Livley Leadership Award: Vaylon Dubois, Pollock


Board of Directors Past Chair: Terrell Phillips, Alexandria

Chairman of the Board of Directors: Kyaus Washington, Alexandria

Vice-Chairman of the Management Board: Andrew Bieber, Mamou

Donies & Novie Magee Scholarship: Breland Morris, Pineville

“These students represent the University‘s vision to ‘Prepare Graduates and Transform Lives’ demonstrated by their commitment to academic excellence and Christian scholarship,” said President Rick Brewer. “Louisiana Christian University’s great tradition of equipping students for a lifetime of learning, leadership, and service is evidenced by the work of our faculty and students. The University’s devotion to the Great Command is certainly expressed in the dedication of our students to

“Love God with heart, soul and spirit.”