Home Madrid scholarships Semi-finalists announced for 2022 Ben Hogan Prize

Semi-finalists announced for 2022 Ben Hogan Prize


The Ben Hogan Award Committee, Friends of Golf (FOG) and Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) are pleased to present the 10 semi-finalists for the 2022 Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank.

The 10 contenders, listed in alphabetical order, are: Ludvig Aberg of Texas Tech, Sam Bennett of Texas A&M, Eugenio Chacarra of Oklahoma State, Pierceson Coody of Texas, Chris Gotterup of Oklahoma, Cole Hammer of Texas , RJ Manke of Washington, Logan McAllister of Oklahoma, Trent Phillips of Georgia and Michael Thorbjornsen of Stanford.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank annually recognizes the top male college golfer in NCAA, NAIA or NJCAA Division I, II or III based on all college, amateur and professional events over the past 12 months. . Three of the top six players in the Official World Golf Rankings—No. No. 3 Jon Rahm (2015, 2016), No. 4 Viktor Hovland (2019) and No. 6 Patrick Cantlay (2012) are past recipients of the honor, while No. 2 Collin Morikawa (2018 , 2019) has been done twice. Ben Hogan Prize finalist.

Eight seniors, a junior and a sophomore make up the list of semi-finalists. Four of the players (Aberg, Bennett, Coody and Hammer) are former semi-finalists. Coody, a runner-up in 2021, earned a top-10 spot for the third year in a row.

Six of the 10 players come from the Big 12 Conference, while two play in the Pac-12 and two in the Southeastern Conference. Seven of the golfers play collegiately in Texas (four) or Oklahoma (three). Five of the universities represented by the semi-finalists (Georgia, Oklahoma State, Stanford, Texas and Washington) are home to past Hogan Prize winners.

On Thursday, May 5, the 10 semi-finalists will be narrowed down to three finalists. Finalists will attend a black-tie dinner on Monday, May 23 at the Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner will be crowned. The winner will receive an exemption for the 2023 Charles Schwab Challenge, played each year at the Colonial.

The award selection committee, which includes AmateurGolf.com CEO Pete Wlodkowski, votes at every stage of the process, is made up of 32 leaders and experts from professional, amateur and collegiate golf, both nationally and internationally. Additionally, past recipients will be able to vote on the final ballot.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank began honoring the Colonial Country Club’s outstanding amateur college golfer in 2002. Prior to its move to Fort Worth, the original Ben Hogan Trophy, which used a different set of criteria for its winner, was been awarded to Bel-Air Country Club in Los Angeles beginning in 1990.

The Hogan Award winners at Colonial have combined to rack up 67 global wins, including 49 PGA TOUR victories, and raised over $320 million in prize money across the globe. Additionally, the group has competed in 12 Ryder Cups, a dozen Presidents Cups and won two FedExCup Championships.

In addition to Rahm, Cantlay and Hovland, past recipients include: Ricky Barnes (2003), Matt Every (2006), Rickie Fowler (2008), Doug Ghim (2018), Bill Haas (2004), Chris Kirk (2007), Hunter Mahan (2003), Maverick McNealy (2017), Ryan Moore (2005), John Pak (2021), Patrick Rodgers (2014), Kyle Stanley (2009), Nick Taylor (2010), Sahith Theegala (2020), DJ Trahan (2002), Peter Uihlein (2011) and Chris Williams (2013).

Since 2002, the Ben Hogan Prize presented by PNC Bank has distributed more than $825,000 in scholarships to more than 30 universities. For more information, visit TheBenHoganAward.org and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

2022 Ben Hogan Prize Semi-Finalists
Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech, Jr., Eslov, Sweden
Sam Bennett, Texas A&M, Sr., Madisonville, TX
Eugenio Chacarra, Oklahoma State, Sr., Madrid, Spain
Pierceson Coody, Texas, father, Plano, Texas
Chris Gotterup, Oklahoma, Sr., Little Silver, NJ
Cole Hammer, Texas, father, Houston, Texas
RJ Manke, Washington, Sr., Lakewood, Washington.
Logan McAllister, Oklahoma Sr., Oklahoma City, Okla.
Trent Phillips, Georgia, Sr., Inman, SC
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford, So., Wellesley, Mass.